honor band

Noelle Hill (percussion), Owen Klaus (trombone), and Ella Ricardo (percussion) were selected as members of the 7th-8th SEIBA Honor Band.

Three members of the Davis County Middle School 7th-8th Band were selected for the SEIBA (Southeast Iowa Bandmasters Association) 7th-8th Grade Honor Band.

Noelle Hill and Ella Ricardo were selected for the percussion section and Owen Klaus successfully competed for a chair in the trombone section.

Darcy Wiegand, while not ultimately selected, was recalled for a second audition for the flute section.

“The audition is very challenging,” said DCMS Band Director Amy Cook. “Students must learn two very challenging songs, memorize 10 scales, and compete with students from all over southeast Iowa, including some very large schools in the Iowa City area.

Daphne Ikerd and Mary Luffy also tried out for the honor band.

The Middle School Honor Band will perform in concert January 22 at Clear Creek Amana High School.